In Memoriam

One of my favorite people told me: If you want to do work that transforms people, be a teacher. And I don’t doubt a teacher made me what I am today. Teachers, really. And I’m not the only one. Generations of students captivated, enlightened, rescued from the cave by the same dozen women and men. So when one teacher dies, I mourn the loss of a good friend, a mentor, the hours we’ll never spend discussing philosophy or politics. But also, and much more, I mourn the next generation of students, who will never have the privilege of undergoing that transformation. Andy, I know you shared my disbelief in the opportunity to teach after death; but I hope future students will someday learn as much, from others, as I know I learned from you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

